• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice on expensing R&D and "umbrella" company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on expensing R&D and "umbrella" company

Hi all,

I'm an electronic engineer. I've generally always worked as a salaried engineer but have been lured over the world of contracting for a short-term (6 month contract). So since this is my first time contracting I'd appreciate some advice.

I have already formed a limited company for some prior work that I have done (less than £1,000 GBP) so the taxman does not get too upset. I will continue to use that registration.

I would hope that some helpful folk on here would be able to guide me through whether what I am doing is a sensible arrangement. Obviously I will seek final advice from an accountant.

I will be contracting for a company at 30 hours/week at a rate around £40ph. I've verified IR35 and we should be good to go because I meet the right to substitution, I can perform the work as required at home (at my home office, although some work will be on site) and I have the option to decline to take work if I desire. I will however be contracted for a minimum 6 month period.

In addition, I will be performing work for other clients on an occasional basis (approx 10hrs/month). This work will not be contracted - it will be as and when required.