• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Air BnB

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Air BnB

Hi all,

I'm new to the world of contracting (one week in!) and while I have so far been okay navigating the rather confusing world of tax I have a question on expenses and specifically air bnb/hotels.

I am working remotely from home most of the time but will need to stay in London, usually for a few days per month. This month I chose an air bnb as it seemed the best option, but when I'm looking at my expenses now I can only get a VAT receipt for the actual service charged by air bnb - is that right? I thought the whole booking would have VAT applied.

If not, is this the case for hotels too? (And would I just be better booking a hotel in future for the sake of claiming back VAT?)

Any suggestions would be great... isn't tax fun!?

[For further context: the booking was about £180 and the air bnb charge was £24 - so very little VAT on that]

It's unlikely the person renting out their home is VAT registered so are not in a position to give you a VAT invoice. Air BnB are only providing an introduction service and that element is a vatable supply.

IANAA

Comment

Originally posted by ladymuck View Post
      It's unlikely the person renting out their home is VAT registered so are not in a position to give you a VAT invoice. Air BnB are only providing an introduction service and that element is a vatable supply.

IANAA
      Thanks very much for your response!

Comment

Originally posted by JessMatt View Post
        Hi all,