Air BnB Air BnB
Posts 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Air BnB

Nervous Newbie

Question Air BnB

Hi all,

I'm new to the world of contracting (one week in!) and while I have so far been okay navigating the rather confusing world of tax I have a question on expenses and specifically air bnb/hotels.

I am working remotely from home most of the time but will need to stay in London, usually for a few days per month. This month I chose an air bnb as it seemed the best option, but when I'm looking at my expenses now I can only get a VAT receipt for the actual service charged by air bnb - is that right? I thought the whole booking would have VAT applied.

If not, is this the case for hotels too? (And would I just be better booking a hotel in future for the sake of claiming back VAT?)

Any suggestions would be great... isn't tax fun!?

[For further context: the booking was about £180 and the air bnb charge was £24 - so very little VAT on that]

Super poster

It's unlikely the person renting out their home is VAT registered so are not in a position to give you a VAT invoice. Air BnB are only providing an introduction service and that element is a vatable supply.

IANAA

Nervous Newbie

Quote Originally Posted by ladymuck View Post
    It's unlikely the person renting out their home is VAT registered so are not in a position to give you a VAT invoice. Air BnB are only providing an introduction service and that element is a vatable supply.

IANAA
    Thanks very much for your response!

Super poster

Quote Originally Posted by JessMatt View Post
    Hi all,

I'm new to the world of contracting (one week in!) and while I have so far been okay navigating the rather confusing world of tax I have a question on expenses and specifically air bnb/hotels.