• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Timesheet / billing for general availability in lieu of a current task?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Timesheet / billing for general availability in lieu of a current task?

Hey all,

Newbie here. Hard to articulate this question in the post title, but i'm working for a company remotely as a consultant, where they expect 8.5 hours out of me per day. I start a clock and record time spent on each task, but there are not enough tasks to "fill" the day. Needless to say, I don't fabricate tasks, so I am sometimes ending up with ~4 hours worth of actual "work done" per day.

Now my confusion: I am *still* sitting behind a desk for them, waiting for calls, tasks to drop out of the sky, etc. I'm synchronising my lunch hour with theirs, and general ensure i'm always online. Could I be (should I be?) charging a general availability / "standby" fee?

Many thanks for any advice

rog.

Is the time logging on each task a client requirement?

Comment

Do you log the time taken to log your time on the timesheet anywhere?
      Originally posted by Stevie Wonder Boy
      I can't see any way to do it can you please advise?

I want my account deleted and all of my information removed, I want to invoke my right to be forgotten.

Comment

Time to speak to your client and clarify the situation.
        'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by ladymuck View Post
          Is the time logging on each task a client requirement?