• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

ER and the 2 year stand down

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ER and the 2 year stand down

Hi All - I'm currently a ltd company contractor and the client I'm currently at has said they will no longer utilise Ltd co contractors from the end of Feb20 due to IR35 concerns. It seems possible I can stay working at the client by 1 of these 3 modes: become a perm, PAYE contractor (through a third party), Umbrella (become perm employee of a thrid party umbrella outfit). My questions are:

- If I close my company and claim ER (lets assume that all things being equal I qulaify for ER) and engage any one of the three options...would I be in breach of the two year rule? I'd be doing essentally the same work, but obviously not through a ltd company. My inital thinking is that I would be ok as i'm clearly not pheonixing into another ltd company...

- I guess a slightly unrelated question, and excuse my total ignorance on the matter.... but if I go for one of those 3 options, and hmrc decided to retrospectively review my IR35 status for the time I was at the client via ltd co, would they view my contniued employment at the end user post Feb20 as a sign to support an IR35 assertion? I guess thats crystal ball gazing but not sure if people have view?

Thanks

Originally posted by bubble99 View Post