• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Tax relief on vehicle

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tax relief on vehicle

I am a contractor sole trader self assessing and it's time to replace my current vehicle.

The simplest way to do it is to just claim milage @45p a mile but unfortunately I don't business use the car much milage-wise (maybe 3k per annum) as my core work is overseas where a vehicle is provided.

I do however believe I use the car for, say 20% business use overall (drop-offs, business errands, meetings ) as I average 15k a year.

I know BIK etc does not apply as there is no separation between myself and my business and VAT is not a factor.

So if I got a £25k low emissions car for cash (new or second hand) wouldn't I be better off claiming actual costs of 5k (20% cost) plus associated road tax / insurance / services etc? Or do I just get tax relief off the 5k whilst the 45p a mile is fully allowed? To date I have just been claiming the milage rate on the old car but I'm finding it difficult to weigh up the pros\cons when considering replacement. Has anybody been in a similar position?

Originally posted by mrkjd View Post
    I am a contractor sole trader self assessing and it's time to replace my current vehicle.

The simplest way to do it is to just claim milage @45p a mile but unfortunately I don't business use the car much milage-wise (maybe 3k per annum) as my core work is overseas where a vehicle is provided.