• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Entrepreneurs' relief

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Entrepreneurs' relief

Hello seasoned contractors,

I have been running with a Limited Company since 2006. I have now taken up a permanent job and I am looking to close down my Limited Company. Year-end of my company is September.
    I had an outstanding Director's Loan which I have repaid in August 2019. My accountant has prepared my year-end accounts and it shows the settlement of the Director's loan. Now, I (my accountant) need to re-claim the Corporation Tax paid on this Director's loan in last few years.

My questions are

1. How many years in the past I can re-claim the CT paid on DL? (My accountant says 3 years max i.e. as far back as 2017). Is this correct?
    2. Is there a set period I need to wait for before I can start the Company liquidation process? (My accountant says I need to wait until June 2020 before I get my re-claimed CT and liquidate after that). Is this correct?

Any advice on these would be highly appreciated.

Thanks.

Speak to Chris Maslin. He runs MVL Online and is also an accountant so one stop shop for you. He posts a lot on here or get him at his company Maslins Accoutants.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Naaa, don't speak to me(!)