• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Entrepreneurs' relief

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Entrepreneurs' relief

Hi All

I went down the Entrepreneurs' relief route in April this year, my understanding is that I can not operate under a limited company for a 2 year period unless I'm prepared to forfeit the reduced tax allowance.

A couple of questions:
    Can I work as an employee under my wife's limited company
    Does it make commercial sense to go down this route?

Thanks in advance

No. Unless the work is completely different to what you were doing in the now-closed company. You could however work as an employee for a completely independent company in which you had no ownership, direct or indirect.

Comment

Surely there is no advantage being an employee with her? The full income will be taxed like it would with a brolly so what's the point?

If you are thinking of becoming a shareholder of her company paying divis etc then no as you'll be continuing in the same way you were before.

Agents often want the contractor to be the majority shareholder, often the only one, so you will struggle with that regardless of the tax situation.
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by Bobo View Post
        Hi All

I went down the Entrepreneurs' relief route in April this year, my understanding is that I can not operate under a limited company for a 2 year period unless I'm prepared to forfeit the reduced tax allowance.

A couple of questions: