• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Making an adult son or daughter a director?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Making an adult son or daughter a director?

Hey guys, just wondering how acceptable it is for an adult son (or daughter) to be a director of a mostly one person contractor limited company?

I've been helping my Dad for many years now in a mainly organisational and advisory role but haven't had any official role in the company so far. He's mostly a one man band with a little help from my Mum. But increasingly he's trying to move from day rate work to potentially a writing and speaking career. It's going to need a functional and managed website, social media presence and a lot of editing, guidance and support to get there.

I understand he could pay a salary or even an hourly wage, but it sounds complicated to work out hourly rates and keep records for every minute worked. For this much work, would it be better to be appointed a director and/or receive a small amount of shares instead? I am a director of my own company already so i'm aware of the responsibilities.

There's a lot of posts on the forum about making the spouse a director. Does the same apply for adult children who genuinely assist the business? Thanks.

Not really. Spouses are allowed due to the Arctic case. Anything else isn't really a good idea.

Your accountant should be able to advise the best way to remunerate you after looking at the details of your situation.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment