• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 Status - Can Employer promise be trusted?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi - Newbie here,

Can anyone help advise please?

I have been offered a contracting job by a Council local authority.
    The role is very similar to my current job, but the hourly rate is less then what I am currently on.

However, the agent has said the new employer will accept my role is outside IR35, meaning I will effectively have a pay-rise. They have provided me with a spreadsheet with all the calculations demonstrating this.

My question/concern is how reliable is this, can I trust that the judgement that the new Council is not made on IR35 status will not be challenged by HMRC? Who would HMRC challenge - the Council or me? And in a worst case scenario who would end up paying money back to the tax-office?

Any advice much appreciated.

Originally posted by JamesC34 View Post
    Hi - Newbie here,

The role is very similar to my current job, but the hourly rate is less then what I am currently on.

However, the agent has said the new employer will accept my role is outside IR35, meaning I will effectively have a pay-rise. They have provided me with a spreadsheet with all the calculations demonstrating this.

My question/concern is how reliable is this, can I trust that the judgement that the new Council is not made on IR35 status will not be challenged by HMRC? Who would HMRC challenge - the Council or me? And in a worst case scenario who would end up paying money back to the tax-office?