• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Closing Ltd Company & Moving To Ireland - Tax Question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Closing Ltd Company & Moving To Ireland - Tax Question

I have been contracting in the UK for the past two years through my Limited company. My plan after my current contract expires at the end of Feb is to move back home to Ireland as I have landed a nice contract there starting in March.

My problem is that I still have quite a large sum of money sitting in my Limited company that I would like to extract and bring over the Irish sea with me. What I would like to do is close down the company via the usual MVL route and pay the 10% Entrepreneur's Relief tax and be on my merry way. Sadly I have a suspicion that I may not be so fortunate.

Lets say I move to Ireland in March and become an Irish tax resident, then close down my company via MVL in the following months. Would this sum of money then be subject to Irish tax law on top of the 10% already paid in the UK? If that is the case then my plans of moving to Ireland in this financial year are effectively goosed Are there any other alternatives as at the moment the only option I see is sitting out the 183 days in the UK main my UK-resident status.

I appreciate this may be a complicated topic (my accountant is also looking into it), but any advice or discussion would be greatly appreciated!