• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Offshore contractor working for UK Client

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Offshore contractor working for UK Client

I've an offshore pvt ltd company through which I would like to get into a contract with a UK based client. I'm currently a UK resident (not a UK citizen) but would be moving back to offshore location in few months from now. My contract would most likely be starting in next couple of months and I may have to work from a UK location for few months but as said I would be working from an offshore location for most of the contract period/financial year. With all IR35 reforms I'm slightly confused if I would be falling under IR35 rules OR would I be out of UK taxation rules. Would appreciate any advice, thanks!

Very unlikely anyone will want to touch an offshore LTD company for a start.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

To escape IR35, you would need to be almost 100% based offshore. Once you start coming to the UK, HMRC will be looking at the number of days you worked here.

Comment

Well, I am not really looking to come back to settle in UK in next couple of years. Although I might become a UK citizen soon and might have to visit UK few times for business meets, but the count may not be more than 60 days per year. Is that not reasonable?

Comment

Originally posted by raj273 View Post