• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Calling it a day in 12-24 months - and Entrepreneur's relief

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Calling it a day in 12-24 months - and Entrepreneur's relief

Hello All,

I am a contractor/freelancer, and will be looking to wind up and close my company in the next 12-24 months. It will be a complete shut down, I would not be planning to return to contracting/freelancing at all in the future.

My complications are:

1) The company currently has around £130,000 in cash on hand (in current, reserve and bond accounts) which will grow slightly in the next 12 months
    2) The company also owns a house which is rented out as a BTL investment (to gain income, to stop having so much cash on hand, and to gain a better return than a bond). Current value is around £200,000

I am thinking of using MVL Online as part of the wind up, and have reached out to them for their thoughts on the subject - but I want to make sure all my ducks are in a line before I push the button.

So my questions would be:

1) Is MVL the best choice for this? Has anybody had any good or bad expeirences of them in the past?
    2) Would this much cash and the property allow me to claim ER as part of the wind up
    3) Would it be better to sell the property as part of the wind-up, or before winding up the company in terms of tax and ER?
    4) Is there any Gotchas or other things I should be thinking about before I start to shut my business down?

Thanks all in advance