• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Side contract...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Side contract...

Hi
    Just after a bit of advice and some general input.

I was a contractor for 25 years and took a job in permiedom as I wind down to retirement.
    Technically I have retired just not told them !

So I have been offered a small annual "advice only" contract to review designs etc for a company where I had previously contracted.
    I've not been near them in the last 3 years plus I'm hopeful that it will be be fully outside of IR35.

I expect to receive about 20k+vat on an annual basis.

So can I set up a limited company and then punt the full 20k into a pension ?
    Do I need to take a minimum salary ?
    I am already a higher rate tax payer so not much advantage to me take any cash out as I am nearing retirement.
    Will I need to process accounts etc on such a small turnover.

As always thoughts and comments appreciated,

Thanks and Rgds
    Kobie.

Have a chat with an accountant. Ignore these lot that will post next....

In all seriousness, it's probably a situation that not many have encountered. You may also want to check your current employment contract to see if you're tied in to only working for them.
    The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world that he didn't exist

Comment

Originally posted by kobie View Post
      So can I set up a limited company and then punt the full 20k into a pension ?