• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Winding down with existing business loan.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Winding down with existing business loan.

Hi Everyone new to the forum and looking for some advice really.

i am an offshore contractor and like most of you have been heavily impacted by the corona virus, i have lost a few contracts along with having IR35 looming new year it is no longer viable for me to trade, i have been offered a staff position at a company however it doesn't pay enough to cover my bills and the company's existing loan expenses, so my query was as follows.

i took a business loan over 3 years ago for approx 20k now owing around 14k, and an overdraft over 5 years ago currently at 4k, at the time business was really good and was diversifying in what i did, however now with the loss of several key contracts and lack of work i have taken the staff position.

i am looking to wind down and dissolve the company, i provided no personal guarantee or security and the credit or company is not registered on my credit files at present, and i am a LTD company and have been for over 6 years.

So wondered if i did close the company down, would this effect my personal credit? or be tied to me individually, i currently owe no tax as i have just paid up.

Thanks in advance any help is greatly appreciated.

Originally posted by W124Barr View Post
    Hi Everyone new to the forum and looking for some advice really.