• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Client requests to see Insurance Policy Schedules

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Client requests to see Insurance Policy Schedules

I have been contracting for a client for many years.

Out of the blue this morning they have asked to see my Insurance Schedules for Public Liability and Professional Indemnity insurance.

Is this normal?

Being a good contractor I have both of course, but the schedules include the annual renewal fees, and I'm not sure why they need to see these.

Originally posted by daydream View Post

Out of the blue this morning they have asked to see my Insurance Schedules for Public Liability and Professional Indemnity insurance.

Is this normal?

Being a good contractor I have both of course, but the schedules include the annual renewal fees, and I'm not sure why they need to see these.

What issue do you have with sharing the schedules?

As for why they need to see the schedules, it's to confirm that you have them in place.
    …Maybe we ain’t that young anymore

Comment

They're seeing as part of their due diligence - I'm pretty up for an argument over most things, but this isn't an unreasonable request.

To turn it around a little, you'd be well within your rights to ask a builder or plumber to demonstrate that they are suitable insured before starting work.

Comment

Completely normal.

For the most part, I have to send all this along to the agent prior to stepping on client soil.

Comment

Thanks all for your replies.