• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice for returning to contracting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice for returning to contracting

Hi,

so I was a contractor for over 10 years until last November when I decided to go perm.

I made my company dormant with about 80k in the business account.

My perm role has now furloughed me and its looking very unlikely they will take me back any time soon.

I've been looking at going back to contracting again and have had a few interviews and (hopefully) I will get something soon.

Here's my questions (yes, I do have an accountant but they are not very proactive and they seem to only answer specific questions):

1. My wife has not worked since Dec 2018 so would it make sense to make her a shareholder too? Not sure the percentage split to go for.
    2. Should I reopen my existing company for trading again or open a new one (with my wife as a shareholder)?
    3. How do I get the 80k in the company out tax efficiently?

Thanks

Originally posted by too_many_details View Post
    Hi,

so I was a contractor for over 10 years until last November when I decided to go perm.

I made my company dormant with about 80k in the business account.

My perm role has now furloughed me and its looking very unlikely they will take me back any time soon.

I've been looking at going back to contracting again and have had a few interviews and (hopefully) I will get something soon.