• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New Contractor - Sole Trader to LTD?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Contractor - Sole Trader to LTD?

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to this so apologies for the silly question(s) but everyone seems pretty helpful on here so I'm hoping someone can share their thoughts. I recently entered into an "Independent Contractor" contract using my personal name on the contract, I believed at that time I wanted to trade as a sole trader.

However, after doing some research, I believe that having an LTD would serve me better. Question: From now on if I choose to invoice the company using my LTD (instead of my personal name), will I STILL be recognised as dealing with them as a "sole trader" since my original agreement has my personal name or will this not matter anymore as the company will essentially be paying me via my LTD and therefore be implicitly trading directly with the LTD based on their actions?

Really appreciate this. Thank you!

You will need a new contract.

A Ltd Company is a separate legal entity to a sole trader.

Comment

If through an agency and, if mid way through the contract, you will be best to be assured;

a) there will be a further renewal, and
      b) sort out a Ltd Co in readiness for the next renewal.

Chance are that trying to change mid way will incur ambivalence on behalf of the agency.

Comment

Thanks guys! That makes sense. Could I use the substitution rule to do that instead and would it work?

Comment

To do What, exactly?

And before you answer;