• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Payment dispute company in the US

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Payment dispute company in the US

Could anyone suggest a lawyer in the UK or US that could mediate a payment dispute in the US.
    My company is resgitered in the UK, I am a contractor. Worked for the company for 10years, never had a problem with payments until now. They own me 5 month worth of work and I am not sure how to go about t. In the UK I was told to seak help in the US...

can anyone help?

Originally posted by JackUK View Post
    Could anyone suggest a lawyer in the UK or US that could mediate a payment dispute in the US.
    My company is resgitered in the UK, I am a contractor. Worked for the company for 10years, never had a problem with payments until now. They own me 5 month worth of work and I am not sure how to go about t. In the UK I was told to seak help in the US...

can anyone help?
    What does the contract say about jurisdiction?

Comment

Have they written to you to inform you why they haven't paid you / why they don't intend paying you?

Is the debtor an Agency, or are you contracting as a Limited Company direct with your client?

If the contract jurisdiction is in the USA, it's going to cost you loads to engage a lawyer there, to represent you whilst you are based here...

If your client has filed for Chapter 11 protection, then you stand to (most likely) lose it all, since YourCo. will just be a (small) concurrent creditor.

Chapter 11 - Bankruptcy Basics | United States Courts