• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Offered new contract. Told it has to be PAYE or Umbrella. Which should I choose?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Offered new contract. Told it has to be PAYE or Umbrella. Which should I choose?

Hi all, I have searched the forums but haven't been able to find information that will help answer my query, so I hope that you can help.

I had been contracting with my LTD company for the past 10 years in various UK organisations all outside IR35. All was going well but as a result of the HMRC IR35 reforms, I lost my contract in January 2020 and then Covid happened, so I've been out of work! I now have good news in that an organisations via the recruitment agency Reed want to offer me a new 6 month contract starting in August 2020 but they have stated that it has to be inside IR35 and therefore either via an Umbrealla or PAYE through the agency.

My query is that as I have the choice of using either an umbrealla, or going via Reed's paye, which do I choose? They have suggested that they can pay either 300pd via the paye or 330pd via umbrella. I am assuming the umbrealla route is better but they have said that if I choose the paye option, then I would also be given paid leave (13 days as part of this), and that apparently either option will result in me taking home about the same amount of money, by the end of the contract.