• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New to contracting - advise on accounting service etc.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to contracting - advise on accounting service etc.

Hello together,

I hope this is the right sub forum.

Just recently I have been offered temporary contracting work (~ 6 months). As I have never done this before, I came across this forum and really appreciate the community and information provided. I spoke to several accounting firms and wondered whether you have some experience.

A bit of background - I could do a contracting role for a limited period of time and have been an employee up until now. I looked into different models sole trader, LTD and Umbrella and tried to find out what is best. Generally it seems that Umbrella is best if it is only for a short period, but depending on rate and whether I already worked this year, LTD might be the "better" option. Trying to compare the different accounting services is very difficult as I felt they wanted to offer more than required.

Do you have any experience to share? E.g. would sole trader be more suitable? Which accountancies have been proven to be good for the cases of a short period (e.g., no hidden fees, adequate support on the right solution).

Currently, I don't think that I would extend contracting beyond this period but ofc who knows what the future holds.

Many thanks!

You cannot work through an agency as sole trader.
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment