• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Can I have Ltd company funds on my sports gambling account? (legit reason)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can I have Ltd company funds on my sports gambling account? (legit reason)

Hi everyone!

It was a bit hard to write a title for this, I'm sorry if it's confusing. I'm a contract software engineer and since last year I've been working on a mobile application outside of my contracts in an attempt to build another source of income for my company.

I've been claiming some of the associated expenses but there's one I'm not sure about, given the nature of the app. Essentially this app will have a mechanism of placing orders on Betfair (could be other sports exchanges too) and will do so in a semi-automated manner, effectively applying a strategy that would otherwise be harder to do manually.

I've been using my own money to test how the app works on a production environment (some conditions can't be replicated) and obviously there are errors and before the strategy and functionality of the app is final the likelihood is that money will be lost in the process (e.g, app crashes before closing the position).

My question is, would it be acceptable/legal for me to use company funds to do all the testing I need to in order to finish the application, given that all revenue generated from it (will be subscription-based) will go to the company? I understand this is a bit of a grey area but I'd like to know your opinions. Thanks in advance