• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Compliance questions on Ltd company from agency

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi,

I am new to contracting and have just got my first contract (before you say, yes I know probably worst time in history to go contracting ). The agency have asked me to fill out a compliance form which has a dozen or so questions, two of which are below:

1) I am a sole director and shareholder of my own personal service company.

2) I work for my company under a director's service agreement or employment contract, and the company operates PAYE and NIC on all my income and/or I pay tax on any dividends.

If I disagree with any of the questions, they're asking for an illustration showing the contractual chain between me and the agency and the distribution and taxation of payments I receive from the agency.

Are these questions normally asked by agencies?

My wife is also a director so I will have to disagree with question one, but am I really required to share with the agency how payments are distributed by the company? I don't see why it is any of their business? If I do have to provide it would my accountant be able to advise on what to send?

On question 2, I don't have an employment contract as I am a director not an employee so do I need to have a director's service agreement drawn up?

Thanks for any help.