• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Deal with International Indirect Taxes

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Deal with International Indirect Taxes

Hi, I'd be very grateful if someone could enlighten me on a little legal tax issue.

I'm a UK sole trader, that's about to start a website, selling digital services online.

Anyone could enter the website and buy from anywhere in the world, so technically the sales could be international.

Now... I have to setup how much tax, and which tax will be charged automatically on the invoices based on the client's billing address. As far as I understand, if a UK based client buys from me and I'm below the 85000 UK VAT threshold that means that I do not register for VAT, and If I'm not registered I should not collect it. Does that mean that the UK client will have 0% Tax written on his invoice?

And what about international clients? I have no "nexus", in any other country, just the website. Should they pay 0% tax too? And if that's not the case, how do you figure out what to charge, and how do you transfer the money you collected on behalf of a State to them?

Am I overthinking this? Any help is appreciated

Originally posted by gatto254 View Post
    Hi, I'd be very grateful if someone could enlighten me on a little legal tax issue.

I'm a UK sole trader, that's about to start a website, selling digital services online.

Anyone could enter the website and buy from anywhere in the world, so technically the sales could be international.