• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting for a company in Netherlands from UK

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting for a company in Netherlands from UK

Hello Experts,

I am a non-EU / non-UK citizen living in UK.

I have a contracting opportunity to work for a company having an entity in Netherlands (also Germany), but not in UK. As a consultant, I would have to work for this company's clients, who may be based in other EU countries, depending on the project. I will still be continuing to live in UK - travelling back home every weekend.

Since this is my 1st time as a contractor, I have a few initial questions, which may not be very specific. Apologies for that.

1. Is it better to open a Limited company in UK OR can I just be a Self-Employed contractor OR any other route (eg: opening company in Netherlands) ?
    2. If I am a self-employed contractor in UK, what are the tax implications in UK? Would I need to pay taxes in Netherlands as well?
    3. Whom could I reach out to for detailed advice - Accountant / Tax Advisor / somebody else?

Thanks in advance!

Since you will be mainly working in the Netherlands you should tax yourself there. Even though you may be working in other countries as well there will probably be no tax implications there.