• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Setting up a personal pension - IR35 | Umbrella

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Setting up a personal pension - IR35 | Umbrella

Hello friends,

I'm a budding IT contractor who just accepted a new contract that falls under IR35. I am trying to set up a personal pension so that I can get tax relief and avoid being on the higher tax paying bracket. I'm looking for opinions from seasoned contractors on what they did when they got hit by IR35 especially when it came to setting up pensions etc.

1. I need to go via an umbrella company (Nasa) who can process payments to the pension pot directly from the Gross income
    2. Would you recommend using a financial advisor for setting up a pension? I had a quote from a company called Fairstone who quoted £500 for setting up and then 1% charge annually for managing the funds. Is this reasonable?
    3. What types of pensions did you go for ? (SIPP, SSAS etc) Would be grateful if you could explain you reasons of choosing it
    4. Have anyone used P87 form to claim back expenses (training for IT certs, IT equipment (desk, monitors, chair etc) and anything else that is applicable)
    5. Is there any other things that I should be aware about?

Highly appreciate the help guys.

Originally posted by AJOHN View Post
    Would you recommend using a financial advisor for setting up a pension? I had a quote from a company called Fairstone who quoted £500 for setting up and then 1% charge annually for managing the funds. Is this reasonable?