• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Capital introduced

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by interestedparty View Post
    I don't think it matters that I bought the stock before I started trading as I was a genuine collector, so in that respect I'm just like any other private individual who decides to sell some of their possessions.

So I have twin identities: one as a sole trader and one as an individual - it just so happens that I'm buying (in my sole trader capacity) from myself (in my private capacity) and I don't think it matters if I make a profit as I've had the items for many, many years and they weren't purchased originally with any profit motive?
    Is that right? I always thought that there is no separate identity between a sole trader and the individual. But happy to be corrected as I'v only worked via a Ltd. Interested as Mrs OG is s a sole trader.

Comment

Originally posted by Old Greg View Post
      Is that right? I always thought that there is no separate identity between a sole trader and the individual. But happy to be corrected as I'v only worked via a Ltd. Interested as Mrs OG is s a sole trader.
      Im my experience, there's no difference from a tax perspective ie. all profits are treated as income for the individual and are recorded via the individual's self assessment. Although, the sole-trader income could be recorded separately on that self-assessment.

Set up as a sole trader - GOV.UK
      Last edited by Paralytic; 16 September 2020, 07:21.

Comment