• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Capital introduced

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Capital introduced

Hi all,

I am a sole trader dealing in second hand music memorabilia.

I would like to introduce some of my own private collection as stock.

What value should I bring them in at:

1) Their original cost - this could have been 20 years ago and so could generate a large profit when sold by thew business = tax liability

2) Current market value - so likely to result in little or no profit when sold

3) Or...?

Many thanks for any advice :-)

Current market value. Be able to show proof of your reasonable valuation. HTH.
    ---

Former member of IPSE.

---
    Many a mickle makes a muckle.

---

Comment

Originally posted by wattaj View Post
      Current market value. Be able to show proof of your reasonable valuation. HTH.
      Thanks for your answer - I have a follow up question :-)

If I bring stock in at current market value, then this will generate a very useful cash flow boost when sold, but is also likely to trigger an accounting and tax loss as there will be selling costs incurred; Ebay commission for example.

So, I get a cash flow benefit and also a useful tax loss - this sounds very much like a win/win to me?

Comment

Originally posted by interestedparty View Post
        Thanks for your answer - I have a follow up question :-)