• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Administrated Dissolution - A good way to close limited company?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Administrated Dissolution - A good way to close limited company?

I was a Limited Company contractor before IR35 but now working PAYE Umbrella for the same employer.

I want to get rid of my limited company as I doubt I will be using it again, and I have two options:

Option 1 suggested by my existing accountant: Pay for them to do my final accounts, pay the Corportation Tax that I owe, and leave it there.
    - This will cost a few hundred.

Option 2 suggested by 'Future Strategy': perform an 'Administrated Dissolution', do not pay the Corportation Tax tax that the limited company owes, and save myself several thousand.

It suffices to say that Option 2 is tempting! Here is how it was explained to me:

- The company is closed
    - The Limited company PAYS NO CORPORATION TAX (the cash that Isaved in my business acct is paid out in dividends instead)
    - The company's creditors (HMRC) are notified that the debt due will not be paid.
    - They will dispute this, and there will be nothing that they can do.
    - There are zero reprecussions in terms of other limited companies, personal credit history, etc. UNLESS open essentially the same limited company to continue contracting (this would be a 'phoenix' company rising from its own ashes that would be illegal). So this is a one-time thing for those coming off of IR35.