• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New to SIPP, some questions

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to SIPP, some questions

Hi all,

I am new to SIPP and have never had any kind of pension set up.
    I did some reading and check the right pane but couldn't find anything about SIPP here.

I have > £40k in my LTD now and I was wondering if it is a good idea to open a SIPP now.

Some questions:
    1. the SIPP is opened in my own name, right? Nothing to do with my LTD.
    2. My LTD's TY ends this month so I will have to open SIPP and pay in now to use the £40k allowance? Any other way to utilise this year's allowance? I know you can pay for 3 years back if the SIPP was opened then, but how do you reconcile this with closed (and corp. tax paid) LTD FYs?
    3. I am on £732/month. Can I transfer £40k still?
    4. Any SIPP fund recommendations?

Thanks in advance.

1. Yes, open the SIPP in your own name.

2. Best to pay in the £40k now if you can. Otherwise I don't really know.

3. Yes, you can transfer £40k to your SIPP assuming you have no other personal pension contributions. It must be a payment from your company, not a personal payment.

4. I'd go with a vanguard low cost global index tracker fund or ETF, e.g. VWRL.

Read the pinned sticky thread on this.
    Last edited by syrio; 9 November 2020, 14:00.

Comment

Originally posted by syrio View Post
      1. Yes, open the SIPP in your own name.