• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Erratic working and accounting/tax/income implications

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Erratic working and accounting/tax/income implications

I'm a newbie contractor (sole director and sole employee of ltd. co.) and have set up co. as been asked to work on a 50 day contract ..these 50 days have been randomly allocated over the last 4 months and the contract is about to end. My client may renew or finish; at this stage some kind of renewal is likely. I have an autistic daughter and some family health issues and this sporadic work at present helps me give them the time they need.

I have a few tax, income, accounting problems that I need to address & I hope you can help.

I have been told by my accountant (only contracted to prepare my year end accounts & corp tax return) that I need to sort out my income, pension, PAYE, etc queries myself!

I recently set myself up as online employer PAYE and made myself a first salary payment or £1757 which I will do each month and will bring me to the £8788 limit lower limit for this tax year taking into account national insurance contributions considerations.

The problem I have really is what is the best way to treat the rest of the money(c.£20k) in the company bank account if

(i) I no longer get any work this tax year
    (ii) I get no further work next tax year or year after