• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting in UK whilst becoming tax resident abroad

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting in UK whilst becoming tax resident abroad

Hello,

I’m new here so please bear with me and let me know if there is anything missing.

I am a contractor operating via a UK based limited company, and all my clients are also based in the UK. However I’m considering moving to Colombia, where I would like to continue working remotely with the same clients. I do not intend to work with clients based in Colombia at the moment. The plan would be to remain in Colombia for more than 6 months, therefore becoming a tax resident of Colombia. I know that the UK has a dual-tax agreement with Colombia, but I’m not sure how that works in practice.

Assuming that my clients are happy to continue our relationship with me working remotely, I’m trying to understand what the tax implications would be. I’ve tried looking online for the answers, but can’t seem to find anything that helps, so would really appreciate any advice with the following questions/assumptions.

1. I would like to continue invoicing clients via my UK ltd company, as for some this is a requirement.
    2. Given that both my ltd company and clients are UK based, would I continue to pay corporation tax in the UK? Despite my physical location being in Colombia.
    3. Would it make a difference if I only performed the work whilst physically in the UK, but was still a tax resident of Colombia?