• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie Questions

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie Questions

Hello All,

I'm a newbie and unsure if these questions or allowed. Apologies in advance and admin please delete or move it to the correct thread.

I'm contracting from last year and almost new as a limited company owner. Below are my questions.

1, Expenses: I know this will open up a lot of questions but please bear with me. Spoke with my accountant on how to log the expenses and he advised me I can take a fixed standard amount for example "£1000" per month (this includes sundry, rent, telephone, internet, stationery and etc plus any other expenses (train tickets, travel expenses, Coffee bills or restaurant bills when spent for clients) can be included when spent using the company card.

Question - Is the above something common and I just want to make sure I'm doing the right thing. I might sound a bit paranoid, lol.

2, Contract: I got an extension to the existing contract (from Oct 20 to January 21) starting from January to June next year. My client is saying the first 3 months is a "General" contract which means they transfer the funds to my limited company and in the later 3 months I have to go and find an umbrella company.