• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Fee charged towards Contractor Management System

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fee charged towards Contractor Management System

I am a contractor working for a financial services firm. The agency that my client employs has made a change to my contract stating the client wants to put in place a contractor management system and is asking each of the contractors to pay for the system. The fee is 0.65% of the contractor's daily rate.

I have the following questions/comments:

- The client has proposed making the amendment to my current contract that runs until 31/03/2021 by reducing my daily rate by 0.65%. There is no mention of 0.65% anywhere on the contract as such only a reduced amount is shown on the contract.
    - I find that the charging a daily % is too much to pay for a contractor management system.
    - There is no mention of the reduction in the daily rate due to the fee charged for the system
    - Will I be able to recover this as a cost to my business? i.e. get Corporation tax benefit and VAT (that may be chargeable) on this
    - What will be the implications to IR35 applicability of the current contract?

I would like to know your thoughts / advise please.

Appreciate your feedback.

Assuming you bill 500/d and 22 days a month this is £11000 a month. 11000 * 0.0065 = £71.5 a month. You are going to quabble over 70 quid a month with your client? Are you stupid?

Comment

What is the fee meant to cover / provide?

Comment