• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Being a GM and IR35

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Being a GM and IR35

Afternoon all,

Newbie here with what could be a daft question, so please be kind.

I've been asked to be the General Manager at an IT company. I've had the contract, I've reviewed it and had it legally reviewed and it falls outside IR35.

The CEST comes back saying it's outside IR35 too, but lets leave that point to one side for now since I know what people will say about that.

HOWEVER what hasn't been finalised 100% is the scope (so it hasn't been legally reviewed yet). What I do know is that it will be basically setting up a new subsidiary of the business so

1. Setting up and managing the output from all four teams in the business, however the role has no authority over annual leave approval, grievance or performance management etc.

2. Main point of contact on a number of B2B contracts, ensuring they are run effectively etc.

3. Putting in place controls/process etc for the new subsidiary.

4. A number of one off projects to clean the new business up and moving it into its new form etc.

The role isn't a directorship but it is very senior in the company. It's included on the org chart with the teams above reporting into it. The term is likely to be at least 12 months with the scope changing over time as elements of the above are put in place and handed over to perm staff.

I have doubts over the scope being outside of IR35 but the client is adamant that it is.