• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contractor insurance for UK resident working for US-based client

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contractor insurance for UK resident working for US-based client

Search has failed me me this topic so I hope someone here can help

I'm a product manager, and have just made the switch to contracting. I've got an accountant, have set up a Limited Company, all that good stuff. I am a UK citizen based in the UK.

The one area I'm missing at the moment is insurance. QDOS was suggested to me for contractor insurance, however they do not cover contractors whose main clients are in US jurisdiction. As it happens, my contract with my main client is indeed under US jurisdiction. I have checked with them and, for this reason, they won't cover me.

Other UK contractors who do business with US clients - who provides your insurance cover?

Try Randell Dorling, but you'll need IPSE membership. It's the cheapest I've found, by far, for Canadian or US jurisdiction and governing law (e.g., of a US state). You could also try Hiscox direct (who underwrite the policy), but it will probably be a lot more expensive.

Comment

But check your contract first, because you will only need this if the contract explicitly specifies US jurisdiction and/or governing law. It isn't about where the client is located per se, but the contractual terms.

Comment

Originally posted by jamesbrown View Post