• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Daily Rate to Monthly Retainer

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Daily Rate to Monthly Retainer

I've been working for the past 18 months for various clients on a number of daily rate (depending on the work). However, one client has asked to retain my services for a period of 3 months (Jan-Mar) and would like to know what I would charge as a monthly retainer each month.

Would you work this out simply at daily rate x 20 days = monthly retainer?

And i agree with the status under my username - I'm definately not worth listening too

I think they are looking to hold onto you without you doing much work???Therefore they may be looking to pay a lot less than your current dailly rate. Otherwise they would just contract you for 3 months.

Comment

Originally posted by Jeebo72 View Post
      I think they are looking to hold onto you without you doing much work???Therefore they may be looking to pay a lot less than your current dailly rate. Otherwise they would just contract you for 3 months.
      yeah that's how I interpreted it. They want to effectively pay you to be available should they need anything. If they do specify some work within that period then presumably they will then pay the difference.

All depends on how the market is for OP I suppose

Comment

Offer to sell them 5, 10, 15, 20 days paid in advance work that they can call off as they need, subject to a mutually agreeable SLA.