• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

accountant charging minimum fee of 1140 plus VAT for 5 months work

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

accountant charging minimum fee of 1140 plus VAT for 5 months work

Hi

I'm new to the contracting game but I'm just about to sign up with an accountant for the following

* company year end accounts
    * tax computations and returns
    * payroll and paye returns
    * vat returns (although in my case they're wont be any)
    * directors personal tax return

They charge £95 plus vat a month, which doesn't seem unreasonable but the contract with them states that basically no matter when I join them they get to charge me a full years worth of fees, eg £1140 plus vat.

Is this normal? its seems a little unreasonable considering there's only 5 months of the financial year left

Originally posted by someguy1 View Post
    its seems a little unreasonable considering there's only 5 months of the financial year left
    are you intending to wind up the company or something after those 5 months? or stop paying an accountant?

edit: I pay £80+VAT for a similar service, although I do my own VAT returns. No upfront fee, and I think I was initially in a 12 month contract with them so could have effectively be charged for early exit of the contract.
    Last edited by CheeseSlice; 9 December 2010, 08:27.

Comment

I'm just about to sign up with an accountant