• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Account engagement letter- Filing vs Prepare VAT

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Account engagement letter- Filing vs Prepare VAT

Hi All,

I am a new contractor and I have recently signed up with my accountant. He told me that the only thing his service is not included is personal tax return. Everything else is taken care of by him.

Today I got an email from his company asking me to Filing Quarterly VAT Returns and PAYE/NIC payments online by myself.
    I have since gone back to the engagement letter and found out the word they used for VAT return is ‘prepare’ not filing.

Does 'prepare' mean they caculate the amount and you have to file it yourself?

Does that mean that I need file everything(VAT , PAYE, company house Annual return etc) myself? So why the accountant told me that I only need do my personal tax?

Do you all file VAT returns etc online youself?

Any help and advice will be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by 7of9; 9 December 2010, 14:17.

Some accountants will prepare the return for you and ask you to file it yourself, and some will file the return online for you.

The PAYE payments are just that - payments. You will have to do these yourself as your accountant cannot make payments from your company account for you. He should though prepare and file your year end returns for you.