• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Not getting paid....heyalp!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Not getting paid....heyalp!

Hello,

I've been a contractor for 11 years and I use an umbrella company (I'm a coward).

I was supplied to a client via an agency and had no problems until I had to make a compulsory switch to a service provider as the end client decided on a preferred list.

The current terms are that payment is made according to a payment schedule which these people have sent me. There are two payment runs: one at the beginning of the month, and one mid-month for "direct contractors" (me). It is on these runs that they say they must be in receipt of the invoices for settlement a week before the run. That said, they are in receipt of 4 invoices from my umbrella company (my umbrella co invoices weekly)

Last month I wasn't paid on either run and I had to kick up a stink for them to even bother to pay me anything before Christmas. They settled all my outstanding invoices.

The latest payment run was yesterday - on which they have only settled ONE of the invoices (I am expecting 3)

Have I any recourse here. My end client really isn't involved and this is not a problem with my umbrella company (been with them years, they are very straight and prompt)

Getting tired of wondering whether I am going to get paid at all, and now how many invoices they feel like paying.

Appreciate any help or advice please. PM me if you need specifics.

Hi ITDolly,