• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contractor with company for over 4 years... any obligation to make me permanent?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contractor with company for over 4 years... any obligation to make me permanent?

Quick question..
    I started this contract in Jan 2007, initially it was a 6 month rolling contract that kept getting renewed.
    Last July it was renewed for a year.

I work through an umbrella and always have, although im a contractor it's not a temporary job it's an ongoing desktop support role and we're busier than ever. I work with 2 guy's that are permanent, get paid a bit more than me, get 6 weeks holiday a year and get loads of company benefits.

Is the company under no obligation to take me on as a permie after a certain period?

Originally posted by TheAnalyst View Post
    Quick question..
    I started this contract in Jan 2007, initially it was a 6 month rolling contract that kept getting renewed.

I work through an umbrella and always have, although im a contractor it's not a temporary job it's an ongoing desktop support role and we're busier than ever. I work with 2 guy's that are permanent, get paid a bit more than me, get 6 weeks holiday a year and get loads of company benefits.

Is the company under no obligation to take me on as a permie after a certain period?
    No. You're a contractor. If there were any such "obligation" it would have applied from day one.

However you have to ask why you're staying if you're getting less than the permies...