• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Offshore Option

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Offshore Option

I work as a contractor through a limited company based in the UK. I was recently discussing options to reduce tax liability with a similar contractor who has a strange set up. He is 'registered' with a company based in mainland Europe (not sure where) who invoice for the work he does (he works in the UK). They then retain 20% from each invoice and then 'loan' him the 80% by paying that into his UK bank account. Therefore he has no UK tax liability whether Corporation Tax or Income Tax.

This seems a great deal as the liability is fixed at the retained charge of 20% and the loan is terminated at the end of each year. He has worked like this for 3/4 years with no problems but I cannot understand how this can be legal. Obviously this appears risky but as I know he has done this over a period I am beginning to think this may be an option for me! The only difference between the two of us is that he is Australian (been in UK for 6/7 years) and I am British.

What I'd like to know if possible:

a) Is this legal?
    b) Would you recommend this approach?

Thanks for any comments.

Get ready to be flamed because you've not searched or read the stickies.

Have you searched and read the stickies?

Comment

a) Income wearing a pair of big nose glasses and jimmy wig disguise (i.e. Loans) are the target of a new bit of legislation and HMRC advice that they will be deemed as taxable income from Dec 2010