• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Could I expense My Business-Related Training Course?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Could I expense My Business-Related Training Course?

I am an IT consultant and I do have a stammer. I take 1 or 2 speech training courses (e.g. telephone skills for people who stammer, etc) per year to help me provide a better consultancy.

Is it OK to expense the cost of these training courses?

Is there any HMRC helpline that I can contact and ask them?

I spoke with my accountant and he said it's unlikely that HMRC will allow expensing speech therapy courses because you will also personally benefit and expenses should be wholly and exclusively for business only.

What my accountant said is a pure discrimination by HMRC if it is correct, isn't it? You can't expense a training course that you need to improve your work because you have a stammer!

This doesn't make sense to me with regard to training courses as anyone who takes any training course will also benefit personally and indeed all training courses have the element of being personal otherwise that person wouldn't have taken that course!

Please share your thoughts.

Your accountant is correct, that is not wholly for the purpose of business. Presumably you also stammer when you are not working too.
    Public Service Posting by the BBC - Bloggs Bulls**t Corp.
    Officially CUK certified - Thick as f**k.

Comment

I do wonder with all these questions about can I claim this, can I claim that.