• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Commuting to UK (re. expenses & accom)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Commuting to UK (re. expenses & accom)

First post - hope I make sense!

Right, I've been contracting in the UK for the last 2 years for the same company, operating via an umbrella 'employer' and claiming both weekly airfares to- and weekly hotels in London. Now that I'm coming to the end of the 2-year IR35 cutoff, how would you suggest I best continue contracting (for the same company - they like me, thankfully!) while still being able to claim the substantial travel & accommodation expenses (around £3000 pm) ?

From a UK taxation point-of-view, I live in Dublin, Ireland - that's the only address they have for me - and it is indeed my home - I do not, nor intend to, own a place in London or elsewhere in the UK.
    Will I fall foul of the IR35 24-month rule re. temporary workplaces or are there legal entities (self-employment, limited co) that would make the process easier, while remaining above board at all times ?

regards, -heebe.

Originally posted by heebejeebe View Post
    First post - hope I make sense!