• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Self assessment

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Self assessment

Hi there

When does the Inlanrd Revenue contact Directors to submit a self assessment?

I formed my Company in March 2010 but havent heard anything and my accounts are due in Dec 2010 but I'm not clear what relation this has to Self Assessment (I've never done it before) so any help will be much appreciated!

Jubilee

You should have informed HMRC that you needed a tax return, the onus is on YOU to contact them. Give them a call and tell them you're a director of a limited company - 0845 9000 444. You're supposed to register within 3 months of becoming a director. HM Revenue & Customs: Registering for Self Assessment

If you started in March 2010 then you should have filed a tax return for 2009/10, which was due at HMRC by 31 January 2011. If there was no tax to pay then you can appeal any penalty and they should reduce it to zero.

Might be an idea to talk to an accountant too
    ContractorUK Best Forum Adviser 2013

Comment

I did post that that wasn't true and quoted this link. However, have been recent changes to law see next post.

If not, then despite the Taxman’s assertion that all directors need to submit a return form, you don’t need to bother. If you do owe tax, then the same time limits apply as if you had received a form.
      Directors' tax returns - Company directors - tipsandadvice-businessdatabase.co.uk