• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

ESC C16 - Company Closure

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ESC C16 - Company Closure

I'm an IT contractor and am about to start a new contract. There are reasons why I'd like to close down my old company & start a new one, the most obvious being to take advantage of the ESC C16 concession.

My accountants say that I cannot do this, as I would not be able to provide assurances to HMRC that would result in me being granted ESC C16, due to the fact that I would intend to continue the same trade under a new company. However, a colleague's accountants are busy doing this for all of their clients mid-contract, claiming that it is only an issue if HMRC explicitly request such an undertaking and they only very rarely do so.

Who is correct? I have seen this described online as "phoenixing", or a "reconstruction" in which the shareholders in the original company retain an interest in the second company ... and is supposedly a highly questionable practice.

Apologies if this has been covered before; I had a look through recent posts but could find nothing.

Could you not? Google says about 130 pages...

Google ESC C16 Contractor UK
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment