• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Overnight Subsistence

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Overnight Subsistence

Hi everyone

I'm a first time contractor and I'm currently getting to grips with what I am able to claim and what I'm not. I am using an Umbrella company at present and though they provide a wealth of information it's not always what I'm after.

I came across this while looking for guidance on overnight subsistence when staying away from home

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/guidance/480_appendix8.pdf

Under sections 337 and 338 it states:
    Allowable expenses can include the cost of a meal, the cost of a reasonable level of refreshments
    (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) with the meal and refreshments such as tea, coffee or soft
    drinks taken between meals.

Does this mean I allowed to claim a couple of alcoholic drinks with my evening meal or am I misinterpretting or misunderstanding what HMRC are trying to convey.

I'd be really grateful on any advice over this subject

Thanks
    In Scooter we trust

as your employer there policy the Umbrella company

Originally posted by The Spartan View Post
    Hi everyone

I'm a first time contractor and I'm currently getting to grips with what I am able to claim and what I'm not. I am using an Umbrella company at present and though they provide a wealth of information it's not always what I'm after.

I came across this while looking for guidance on overnight subsistence when staying away from home