• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Closing Ltd company - do I absolutely need to close my business accout as well?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Closing Ltd company - do I absolutely need to close my business accout as well?

Hi,

My first post, so please bear with me...

I have a limited company which I've been using as an IT/engineering contractor for the last four years. I have had no income for the last year or so, and wish to close the company, or at least change the business type, because in about six months time I wish to start a limited company selling products online. The new company would be completely different to the existing one.

I would like to keep, if possible, my business account because it is free as it was opened in 2007, but it would not be free if I shut it and then opened another with the same provider (Santander) i.e. for the new business in six months time.

I think I have two options, and was wondering if either of them are advisable or possible under HMRC/banking rules.

1. Close the limited company, keep a zero balance in the bank account, then open a new limited company, and hopefully use the existing bank account for the new limited company. Is it, indeed, absolutely necessary to close a bank account when closing a limited company?