• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

I'm an accountant, do I need to hire one?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am an accountant aswell, although a very low paid one. So I don't really have a choice but to do it myself. It's a pretty steep learning curve as it's alot different doing the books of your own company to the usual processing I do during the day.

But in saying that I am learning alot as I do it and I have full control over my finances and accounts.

Although in saying that, the management accountant at my current place is on a handsome wage and she pays someone else to do the accounts.

In all honesty it's the last thing I want to do when I get home, but for me its an extra £1200 a year saving so, I go solo.

Comment

Originally posted by doubleh View Post
      Thanks Tim, what you say about the three levels of complexity makes complete sense.

I'd say I'm probably about 2/3 of the way through the basics, as I have been acting as FD for a software company for the last 6 months with very tight budgets so have been trying to do as much myself as possible. I definitely think the time vs benefit curve levels off beyond the basics and so would absolutely intend to have an expert to advise me on the finer details.

Cheap plug accepted, are you able to give a rough idea what you (or someone else in a similar position) would charge to do a tax review and offer value added advice given a set of draft accounts in Xero?

Cheers
      Hi Doubleh,