• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Mileage claim on split journeys

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mileage claim on split journeys

Hi all, just found this forum via Google and figured it would be the best place to ask my question.

I am a contractor with a shiny new limited company who lives in a town with rubbish rail links, it takes me an hour by train to get to the nearest well-connected station but only 20 minutes to drive to a different one. So I'll be getting a lift to the station from my better half, who will drive home as I continue to work by train.

My question is, am I allowed to claim for her return journey if she's not employed by my limited company?

For bonus points: If I do put her on the books, can I claim for both ways plus the extra 5p per mile for myself?

To be honest with you it sounds more trouble that it is worth? Putting your wife on your books for 5p a mile?

Is it all really worth it?
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

You are JoJoGabor and I claim my 10 sheets of man size tissue...

Exact same question here..

http://forums.contractoruk.com/accou...car-usage.html

Comment

Originally posted by bitplane View Post